South Beach Plus a Killer Workout

So yesterday I made it to the gym. I also used the treadmill. When I got done that stinkin’ little thing didn’t look tired, but I sure was. This was probably becuase I just broke a few personal records. 

I did my first mile in 10:53, and I finished up 3 miles total in 38:40. And yes it is hard to follow up a one mile as fast as you can to be part of a 3 miles as fast as you can effort. My heart rate got up over 175 on the first mile and never looked back. I did .85 at 5.5 mph, then up to 6.0 mph for the last .15 miles of the first mile where I hit my new best time with a heart rate around 185-ish. Then for the next 28 minutes I slowed down to as low as 4.2 and had bouts of insanity where I sped back up as high as 5.5 which I did for the last .1 miles. My heart rate never dropped below 175 for the second two miles and I never saw it go over 189. This was the most I have been able to push myself. And being on the SBD I did feel like I needed a break in there somewhere, but honestly, I don’t think I could do that without thinking —please stoooooop— somewhere in there no matter what I ate.

And MizFit to answer your questions about feeling beat from the low carb diet, I actually feel pretty good, but the first 2-3 days were tough. My kid has been pretty sick and I am not sure if I got a real mild case of what she had, or if I just got wiped out and had no energy from SBD. I am thinking it may even be a combination of both. Since I have made more of an effort to get the veggies in every meal, which includes spinach in the morning eggs, I have been doing better. I also had extra turkey patties left over from the one day and eating them, which were just full of veggies seemed to help me. I am glad you tried them by the way, thanks for the feedback!

So I have one more thing to share, it harkens back to one of my first posts where I was refering to a special form of artwork. See if you guys can guess what it is.

sweat-art

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “South Beach Plus a Killer Workout”

  1. MizFit Says:

    good (well not really about the sick..but at least its not the carbs)
    and me? carbed up and TIRED so Ive no CLUE on the above!!

  2. Jill Says:

    OMG is that a sweaty butt print???????

    Am I right? Do I win a prize?????

    =)

  3. brianthinagain Says:

    Nice guess Jill, you guessed it. I usually get all embarrased when I get up and see that and wipe it off real quick. But no one was around and I just had to do it.

    I hadn’t thought about a prize. Hmmm, that could be a bad topic trying to figure it out too if it was to be related… How about you pick a topic for my science post of the week that I have slacked off on the last couple of weeks. Anything you want, I will do some research and write a post about it.

Leave a Reply

