South Beach Diet Dessert – Chocolate Milk Substitute

OK, I finally found something worth writing about that uses stevia. I have not been trying all that much and when I do I run into the taste problems. Not a big deal to me, but nothing to share as if it was a breakthrough. If there is a large tradeoff in taste then I am not going to suggest it. This chocolate milk substitute is perfect however. It has a delicious taste. It is very simple and almost can’t be considered a recipe.

One cup of this stuff has 2 grams of carbohydrates, which are not sugars, and 1 gram of fiber, 3.5 grams of mono and poly unsaturated fat, no transfat or saturated fat, and 2 grams of protien. You add the Stevia bulked up with erithritol based on how sweet you want it between 2-3 teaspoons, and you have yourself a drink that tastes sweet and lucious, not like fat free milk that tastes watered down. I cannot lie, it doesn’t taste exactly like chocolate milk, but the stuff is made from almonds so it has sort of a creamy flavor all its own that adds to make the flavor better. I imagine after I buy this a couple more times I will probably prefer it to chocolate milk. The amazing thing is it has less carbos than a tablespoon of salad dressing, yet you get to drink a whole 8 oz portion. It is perfect for diabetics as well, which I suppose is who this product, since it is unsweetened, is aimed at anyway. There is a version that has added sweetener, so be sure to avoid that if you are going for the super low carbs. The stevia is a bit spendy, but once you can find it in your local supermarket and don’t have to pay for shipping it should be worth the cost.
Chocolate Unsweetened Almond Breeze
Stevia Packets

I bought the unsweetened almond breeze in my local store, but they have no stevia yet, I bet the cargill brand — truvia will work too, but I just bought some of the wisdom stuff today. I am hoping for less aftertaste than the steviva brand I bought when I first found the product.

If you are new here and are wondering why stevia is better than nutrasweet or splenda then read these if you have time:
Nutrasweet is Unsafe
Nutrasweet vs. Splenda
Stevia

Tags: , ,

One Response to “South Beach Diet Dessert – Chocolate Milk Substitute”

  1. Most Popular Posts « Brianthinagain’s Weblog Says:

    […] Chocolate milk substitute – 214 […]

Leave a Reply

