Triathlon Class

I went to my first triathlon class for swimming today at the YMCA. Worked on balance in the water, side-to-side and front-to-back. These drills will really help so I can only put the energy into going forward instead of keeping me balanced. I am looking forward to improving in this area.

The thing about it was that it started at 5:30 am. Youch. Strangely enough all went well and I plan to go back. Who would have thought that me and early mornings would ever embrace each other?

I was perusing for more on the interval training and found an interesting study. At first I thought it was a joke, cause it is called the 8-second fat loss, but that is just the length of the high intensity but you do it 60 times in the 20 minute workout. The deal is that, as MIzFit remarked the other day, you can work out for half the time and get way better results. In this study, they compared 40 minute steady state workouts versus 20 minute intervals and the first group gained a pound while the second lost 5 during a 15 week period of exercising 3 times a week. This study it small and almost 2 years old, but it is very interesting in seeing how fat loss can be sped up by the type of exercise rather than how much.

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,21265523-5006009,00.html

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Triathlon Class”

  1. Alexia Says:

    How cool! I’m reading some of the Total Immersion technique swimming books right now and just watched a video about those balance type drills. I’ll be practicing them myself in the pool this week!

Leave a Reply

