How can you tell if you are losing weight and getting fit?

I will do my third post on VO2Max next week. I was looking for something a bit lighter today. Here is what I came up with…

Here are a few things that have happened to me in the last 2-3 weeks:

  • A coworker came back from vacation and, not having seen me for a couple weeks, asked if I was sick cause I looked like I was dropping weight so fast…
  • My 40 inch jeans got too loose and I knew it was time to go to my 38’s when I could pull them down without unbuttoning them. Recently I noticed my 38’s are now ready for the same quick access mooning…
  • just under 4 weeks ago I was able to run 4 miles in under 40 minutes, 10 minute miles. Just this week I did it under 35 1/2 minutes, my time to beat is now 8:51 per mile average which I will probably beat in a week or two.
  • The lifeguard at the pool commented how my swimming technique was coming along great and that he thinks my stroke is better than his now in just a couple months time, he said he was very impressed. Yeah so what if he is yanking my chain, he really said it…
  • My swimming time, a recent best, per 100 yards over 550 yards is about the same time as my coaches time per 100 meters in the hawaii ironman triathlon two years ago (isn’t the internet wonderful for looking stuff up). Apples to watermelons yes, but I gotta say, as you may have already guessed, that I like them apples.
  • How can I leave out that the scale now has a 1 as the first digit when I hop on cheerfully?
  • My wife and I, how shall I put this in a g-rated manner, were having a little fun time before bed one evening with the lights out, and she commented that I felt like someone else. No I didn’t ask if that was good or bad, or how she might know, or anything like that, I just took it as the compliment she intended…
  • I have been to Sports Authority, REI, a local bike shop, and the sport clothing racks of several stores, oh and the sport book aisle in Border’s Books all in the same week. I am not the same person I was 3 months ago…
  • I drive more miles to and from the YMCA each week than I do to and from work.
  • I spend more time entering numbers in my weight loss and fitness tracking spreadsheet than I do looking at the cable TV guide.
  • I am more excited about getting my bike and all the gear I need to ride it (two things left: clipless shoes first before I can even get on the darn thing and then an indoor trainer) than my 7 year old daughter is about getting her money from the tooth fairy as her teeth pop out. Trust me, I compared and analyzed – and it’s close, but I am more excited.
Tags:

One Response to “How can you tell if you are losing weight and getting fit?”

  1. MizFit Says:

    ok I loved the wife one.
    too sweet 🙂

Leave a Reply

