Progress Report

I swam my best time yet for 500 meters last Saturday. As you may rememebr my current goal I am shooting for is 10 minutes. The pesky little thing was just out of my reach at 10:16. Now I know of two things I can do to get 15 seconds off my time. One is to swim first thing, not after I do 50 minutes of cardio, but that is a scheduling conflict that is not worth losing the 50 minute workout to gain 15 seconds in time. The second thing is to wear the speedo trunks to reduce drag. The triathlon instructor has told me a few times right from the begining I need to do this. Well I bought a pair that are 36 inch waist cause that was all they had on sale, 38 would have fit correctly but they were out. I can get them on and they basically fit because I am in between 36 and 38 right now, but I don’t think the 15 seconds is worth looking like a sausage dog (this lovely little number accentuates belly fat like nothing else can). So Unless I just get good enough to do it in 9:30 and then slow it down to 10:00 from the circumstances I won’t be fast enough to claim I can do it, or I can just lose more weight until the suit fits. I am excited about getting so close though. My last try was 10:50 three weeks ago, so I will be there sometime in December.

I have weighed in below 195 three days so far. Not in a row and not today, but this is how my progress comes. I still haven’t hit 194. My goal was to reach 193 by December 1 so it is in reach if I do well this week. I have been finding it easier to eat less even on the weekends. Which is a real good sign for this lifestyle change thing. Isn’t it funny how we determine what we weight? The way I do it can be described like this: my “current weight” is the lowest of the previous 3 to 5 days during the time of day that I weigh the least, that is after I wake up and go to the bathroom. If I am particularly close to a number I really want to weigh, such as the scale throws up a 200.2, then toss out the number and begin a quick routine to lose more weight. I could try to brush my teeth and spit frequently eggin it on with that burning-mouthwatering sensation mouthwash has. I could, time permitting, go back to bed for half an hour with all the blankets on to sweat out that 0.2, or give it a minute or two and attempt to to the bathroom again. After all rituals are complete I am then ready for the official morning weigh in. Which sometimes works and sometimes doesn’t. Oh, and one final word from the wise, don’t jump on the scale with all your clothes on after dinner unless you were looking for some dissapointment in your evening. It won’t even be close to your “current weight”.

I have been doing a little fiber research and I can vouch for the fact that it keeps you feeling full. There is a problem with it though. I make a tray of bran muffins, loaded up with 5 grams of fiber each. That is good, but when they are sitting out and can see them they get wolfed down more often than they should. This leads to a feeling of being full but at the cost of eating too many of these muffins. It’s not really the calories that hurt, it is the fact that I should have eaten an apple or some carrots. I will make the next batch and wrap them up individually as soon as they cool off so they can just be for the midmeal snack during the week that they were intended. I still have to make a modification to the recipe. I am trying to get more soluble fiber rather than the insoluble that is just roughage. Many of the beneficial effects of fiber seem to be from the soluble type so loading up a plate full of ground tree bark, uh… wheat bran,  just doesn’t help as much as one would like. There is a limit to how much one can cram into a muffin and still make it flavorful. Once I get my recipe perfected I will post it with nutritional info. I will be shooting for 1/3 of the fiber needed in a day, that is almost 7 grams, and half of that being soluble, as well as packing this into a muffin that is only 100 or so calories. This will be a tall order but I am pretty close with my first attempt.

I spend a little time each week, as you can tell, doing research on stuff. Lately I have been thinking about what a realistic goal is for my next year in terms of races. There is a half-iron man triathlon in my home town in August. Should I go for it with the plan of just finishing? I will do the “required” Olympic earlier in the year. Is this too much? What about running only. I already am going to do a 12k race, should I add some 10k’s to warm up, and a half marathon to work towards the next years half iron if not this years? Oh the possibilities are endless. I have not sufficiently answered my questions by asking my coach. (He just says no to the half iron on the principle of one level per year. That is Sprint this year, Olympic next and then the half iron in 2010 if I am still inclined.) I am stubborn and have been considering what it would take. I first listed races that are required. They are the same sprint triathlon I did last year to measure my improvement, the 12k run which is just a huge local event, and an Olympic triathlon that I have told my cousin I would do with him this year in his home town. Close to making the list is another Olympic tri that is near a town we will be driving by as we return from our vacation in the summer.  Another close one is a half marathon in a nearby town that is coupled with a real marathon which is very popular in the area. So that becomes a requirement if I plan to do the half iron. I can’t let my first run of 13.1 miles be after a 1.2 mile swim and a 56 mile bike ride now can I?

Wow, how the mind dreams big. I am almost convinced that I want to compete in a sporting event that will take more than 5 hours for me. Am I insane?

So I looked at a few training schedules for running a half marathon to see if I was insane, but it probably is not even up for debate. One 16 week version has you run twice a week for 30-50 minutes and then a long run on the weekend. The long run starts at the length I am already hitting in the 50 minute workouts (4-5 miles) and works up to 11 a few weeks before the race. So to alter my schedule for a half marathon I need to add a weekend long run instead of my treadmill 4 miles. It is supposed to be a slower pace so I am certainly confident I could do this no problem adding the miles. I wouldn’t be doing more than 6 miles until half way into the program which I could go out and do right now. So I know this is possible for me. Then I looked at training schedules for doing a half iron tri. I am swimming more now than I need to at the peak. The programs peak at 5000 yards a week. I did 6600 two weeks ago, and have average over 5500 for the last 8 weeks. So I can reduce my swim time. The running is not going to be more intense than training for a half marathon, I just need to adjust my workouts as above. This is a very small change. In theory I need to do some core strength training as well. But this can be added in easily with a minimal workout twice a week. The big change will be biking. I have been doing it once a week or less, and since half the time in the race is spent on the bike I am very much lacking. The plan has a person hit the bike 3 times a week, twice is a short ride with a run brick. These start at 20 minutes bike and 5 run and work up to 45 minutes bike 20 minute run at the end of the peak phase. Then the long ride on the weekend that starts at 45 minutes and goes to 2 hours by the end of the peak. I get my indoor trainer soon and will start hitting the bike more often. I am in good enough shape now to start these 16 week programs other than maybe the bike, but I have almost 30 weeks to be ready for running and 40 weeks before the half iron triathlon. I can gain a base level in the next three months that will have me ready to take these challenges head on providing I can take the time to workout and still want to follow through with the insanity. So I will have to wait on the decision and consider it more since there is still plenty of time. Come March I will make my final decisions. I will see if I can take the increase in workout time over the next few weeks once I add in some more bike time. I will be adding a Tuesday morning weight training session in too, probably not until next week though as my back is a little sore to hit it tomorrow.

One last final note to my totally random chain of dissimilar topics is that fact that I hit the 70,000 calories burned tomorrow. My original goal of 240,000 is looking about right as far as reaching my weight goals. So I am at the 30% mark. I am amazed how fast they are adding up. I am going to have to schedule in some rest weeks soon so I don’t over do it. This week would be a good one but for the fact I set some goals that I can’t slacken up and still make them. We shall see who wins… the brain that wants to meet the goals or the one that knows I should rest for a bit.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

