calories consumed

I did not do the bike last weekend. I still haven’t. I did my working out besides that though. I have burned many calories working out last week and am starting well this week too. I swam more last week than any other week: 3.8 miles. Running too with 14.4 miles. Unfortunately I also tied my worst week of eating too many calories at about 17500. It is true my body burned a few more than that but my goal is to create a deficit from working out and eating, not just working out so that I lose weight faster.

At first I was willing to write it off as residual from the month off of everything, but I am still doing it this week. The bad part is I will be fine to eat this much once I am at my target weight but until I get there I need to eat less. So deep down I am telling myself to just lose the weight with extra exercise and not with eating less. But the eating needs to be under control or I will not keep the weight off. I need to be able to say ok I shall eat this today and then do it. Or ok, I can deviate as long as I make it up tomorrow and then carry through with the plan. The problem is I am not planning 100% and I deviate without ever making it up. I wind up with one good day out of every 4 with this lack of care. I will only lose a half pound a week at this pace and will not reach my goal until next winter. I got to get back to the plan on the food side of things.

Here are the best ways I can think of to help:

  1. Plan all my food at night after dinner for the next day from breakfast up to dinner, this way I can pack snacks and control what I eat. If I will be in the car for lunch (the two days I go running at lunchtime for example) then plan to take food that can be eaten cold in the car rather than stopping somewhere. (I actually ran 4 miles and then ate at taco bell!)
  2. Until I get a grip on the problem stop eating lunch in restaurants altogether. Or only eat preplanned meals like subway 6″ ham no mayo or oil and a bag of sun chips for 530 calories. All too often lately I just go for the spicy Italian or meatball and then what the heck just get the 12″ instead and while I think to myself I will save half so I can get the chips for now I wind up gobbling it all down anyway. What was planned to be under 600 calories on the way there turns out to be 1200 all said and done.
  3. Eat fresh fruits and vegetables with every meal and as every snack: carrots, apples, pears, and oranges. This makes the full feeling yet low calories from all the fiber.
  4. Plan meals in a way that I never eat a meal of more than 600 calories, then if I do find myself in a restaurant when I shouldn’t be I can eat 600 calories and then stop. Even if I only get one item from the menu. I have to be strong and think of how full I feel and how bad that feels for the rest of the afternoon to eat 1000 calories at lunch. I need to look at the restaurants that attract me and view the nutritional info online. Then if I am weak and I get there eating the proper meal is not guesswork. I ate a grilled stuffed burrito the other day and thought I was not doing too bad, but the thing was packed with calories. If I have in advance, while a clear head prevails, planned a meal that I like and know the calorie count I can just order that.
  5. I need to plan in the snack in the evening and it needs to include a filling element like raw carrots or broccoli and those calories need to be part of the overall plan. I have been planning to eat about 2200 calories a day with no late night snack and then I eat the snack and get to 2500. If I eat 400 and 500 for breakfast and lunch with  another 200 for two snacks then I can have 600 for dinner and the final snack of 300 gets me to 2200. This is a typical weekday and I can juggle the numbers around depending on what I feel like having. I shall shoot for more of the yogurt with fruit type of snack rather than the fiber one bar which feels more like a candy bar and has me wanting more the second I am finished.

Please post any other suggestions I am up to trying something new.

Leave a Reply

